Dreamstate in the Meantime
ooooh, clever, clever, clever

New Orleans

2005-09-01
I just thought I'd take a little time to write something about New Orleans and Hurricane Katrina. They both sound so...exotic and soft and far-off and not this weighty stuff of devastation and crying and loss.

I think I am really lame because I just don't want to think about it. I know, in part, that it is because I, myself, know it'll corkscrew in my heart and it'll hurt. It'll really hurt to think about, be it the empathy thing or the actual brick wall of insanity that this weather phenomenon has mortared in our path. I thought, you know, a hurricane, it's bad. Things are wet and broken...but things are so broken now, so very fucked up that it's hard to imagine how we can get them fixed. I've been in my little college bubble where people around me talk about beer and cheating on their other halves and I think about finishing assignments and not passing out when I wake up too fast and I have really been blind to what it is.

I can't imagine it, even though I can turn on every channel and see the dark water soaking into lives and rotting them out.

We have people, people enough to fill a stadium living in a goddamn stadium and they're moving to another one and they're just going to live there! I can't...and there's separation and hunger and just getting water when you want water is hard. I can't comprehend it.

I think of New Orleans, I think of absinthe and taps and sugar spoons and the voodoo and the parades and...

I've never been there. I only know from movies, books, pictures, the drawl of a friend, perfume, but it doesn't matter. I wish my worry could amount to something. I wish that wishing meant something to them.

In the meantime, while everyone there does their best to help and stay calm, I'm just going to be aware. That and a donation is all I can do.

12:38 p.m. :: comment ::
prev :: next